MOST REALISTIC COMBAT ART?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by Franco, Sep 4, 2012.

1. Franco

Franco BUDO

A friend mentioned that he read somewhere a Bruce Lee article were he mentions Judo as the most realistic combative of the arts I imagined without the competition rules of course. Does anybody knows about this statement?

3. David Manson

David Manson Disciple

I,ve never heard that from Bruce but I can understand why he might have said that. It's been said that Judo is a soft or passive martial art because you can repeatedly but an oppionant on his ass without ever striking him. When I was a cop that was oh so important. Thats why I practiced it.

4. D. WOODS

D. WOODS Shaolin Toad

I would think Silat or the fma are the most realistic since they use weapons, strikes and grappling.

Sherratt likes this.
  5. Gone

Gone Guest

Krav Maga, probably.

Dpendleton and Muay Thai Samurai like this.
  6. Sherratt

Sherratt Disciple

not so much that its the flow I think about with FMA. depending on how its taught and used Wing Chun and Taiji would also very effective

He raises a very good point about WC

Vldz, Dave76 and Master of Nothing like this.
  7. Semper Gumby

Semper Gumby Disciple

I had never read that Lee had said that. Judo is a great art and I can see the validity of that statement when dealing with non competition Judo. He often wrote about western boxing, fencing and wrestling. I don't think there can/will be an answer to the best/most effective/realistic/practical/ arts question. Too many variables with each individual; and there are only so many ways to hit a guy in the face.

Sherratt likes this.
  8. Semper Gumby

Semper Gumby Disciple

Master Wong, I enjoy watching his videos.

SifuPhil and Sherratt like this.
  9. Sherratt

Sherratt Disciple

so do I. Its actually very applicable to most striking arts particularly ones like ITF TKD

10. Andy Homer

Andy Homer Disciple