Training tips

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussions' started by Film Nerd 42, Aug 6, 2013.

1. Film Nerd 42

Film Nerd 42 Initiate

Hey everyone,

About a year ago I started lifting weights to improve my strength and physique. Since then I've lost a substantial amount of flexibility. Also, while my right side has always been dominate, my body seems to be more lopsided than ever. My left side, while weaker, has become noticeably bigger than my right side. Is this common? Any tips on how to even things out? Also if anyone has a few tips on how to maintain my flexibility I'd really appreciate it!

3. Bad Karma

Bad Karma Warrior Monk

I lift to tone not to bulk. Little weight, lots of reps. Also isometric training is big in my book.

4. Wastelander

Wastelander Initiate

If you stretch thoroughly after lifting, you should not lose flexibility. If you don't stretch enough/properly then your muscles will stay tight and, because you are getting stronger, they will be harder to stretch out later. It isn't that you've lost flexibility, exactly--it's just that your muscles are resisting your attempts to stretch them. After you lift, use a foam roller for self-myofascial release, then go through a thorough full-body stretching routine.

I never used to lift heavy weights, partially because I believed the "bulky muscles = slow and inflexible" myth. I added barbell lifting to my training regimen in the beginning of this year, and I have gotten stronger and just a little bigger (I'm not "bulking" from caloric intake perspective), but I haven't lost flexibility or speed.

MattCMMA, Eric Dufurrena and RJ Clark like this.
  5. RJ Clark

RJ Clark Tree Ninja Staff Member

Very good post, Wastelander! No need for me to add anything about maintaining flexibility(y)