body structure

Discussion in 'Strength Training' started by Johann, Aug 30, 2012.

1. Johann

Johann Initiate

so this is a question that has been on my mind for a while know and I am hoping that someone here can answer it for me. My friend and I started training for general health and fitness at the same time but I also picked up wing chun and kung fu for self defense. It has been a year and I've noticed vastly different results with our respective training regimes. My friend does alot of weight lifting and carido, which has given him bulging biceps, a broader chest and more developed and defined muscles overall. On the flip side I have simply become leaner but I can generate more power in a punch and lift as much weight as he can. My question is; does training martial arts cause your body to develop differently than a person who is simply lifting weights and doing basic exercises? Currently we both weigh roughly 190 pounds each but he is much bigger than I am.

3. Master of Nothing

Master of Nothing Psychotic Pacifist