Fees - how much and why charge fees?

Discussion in 'The Instructors Room' started by Paul of the Northwind, Aug 1, 2012.

1. I have been teaching for nearly 12 years now. I have had a professional school in a small city pop 1.5 million with 66 students where i charged $85 per month, grading fees were $50 each student and association fees were $50 pa. I was always frowned upon by the old school instructors in the association that i charged too much and i should be non-profit. My school was mostly children and they were all very good, regualrly competing at tournaments and helped the school be ranked 4th most competive in the country. never saw a problem with how much i charged as a personal trainer i was charging $75 per hour so $85 per month for 2-3 hour classes i thought was a good deal. Members never qusetioned fees and always paid on time.
    2006 i had an opportunity to work on a cruise ship as a personal trainer and took it, 9 mths later i came home and moved into the rural country side with 5 small towns all within 20 min of each other. each town has populations between 7 and 3.5 thousand people. In 2007 I opened courses in Taekwondo, in 5 towns and was quickly teaching again with 18 hours of coaching along with personal training at the local gym.
    No longer with the previous association i had alot more flexability in what i could charge. I settled with $55 per month and away we went. Success within 18 months membership was at 90 people. Then came the credit crisiss, four years later and now i have 12 students and are charging $30 per month. Over the four years I had so much trouble getting people to pay their fees and on time. these days i only charge enough to cover the cost of the venues. I have been wondering these last few months with people being so poor and few jobs is it morally right to charge people for something that could save their life or someone elses?