Help please bjj guys!

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu' started by The Lion, Oct 31, 2013.

1. The Lion

The Lion Ninja Pirate

So i recently started training BJJ at an MMA gym and it's awesome the Martial Art has succsessfully got me fascinated with it's movements and techniques. The instructor seems like a cool guy and so far it looks like he has a good knowledge of ground fighting and a just do it attitude. I have attended a few classes and he seems to display a bit of a salesmens attitude which i get he's running a business after all. However i was a bit alarmed when he told me he taught takedowns as part of the MMA class and focused mainly on groundwork and submissions in bjj is this normal? Honestly i was kind of dissapointed to hear this as it wasn't what was advertised on the website. It's just triggered some alarm bells and is making me think maybe i should check out some other places around the local area i was also under the impession that throws were a part of bjj so yeah feed back would be greatly appreciated !

3. john2054

john2054 Nearly graduate

troll

4. RJ Clark

RJ Clark Tree Ninja Staff Member

It isn't uncommon that the laser-locked focus for some/many BJJ schools is groundwork and very little time if any spent on takedowns & throws due to the nature of BJJ sport rules and the general mind set of "Sure, let's just agree to go to the ground and get to work". This of course isn't an issue for MMA.

Caneman, The Lion and Eric Dufurrena like this.
  5. Eric Dufurrena

Eric Dufurrena The Iron Fist of Fun

Agreed, it is not uncommon. I have been doing BJJ for several years, and only do take downs now that I got my Black Belt in the regular curriculum. I wouldn't abandon the idea of checking at other schools, though, as take downs are important if you intend to do more fighting, even if just for the defense of being taken down. Ask around.

Caneman and The Lion like this.
  6. The Lion

The Lion Ninja Pirate

Ahh thanks for clearing that up guys.