Learning martial art through videos.

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussions' started by KamikazeUqaab, Oct 3, 2016.

1. KamikazeUqaab

KamikazeUqaab Initiate

Hi, I started learning martial art two days ago, I joined club but it teaches Japanese karate and there is no way I can learn Korean taekwondo, which I wanted to learn, without moving to other place.
    So here are some question I want to ask.
    1) can learn on your own through videos being completely beginner.
    2) after learning karate can you learn taekwindo self.
    3) is Emma complete martial art (does it teach everything from other arts like every types of kicks from taekwondo or just practical kicks like roundhouse) and same for grappling.
    I am interested in taekwondo for its kicking and agility.

3. MI_martialist

MI_martialist Initiate

Can you really learn to become proficient at any physical activity through a video?

KamikazeUqaab likes this.
  4. KamikazeUqaab

KamikazeUqaab Initiate

Well, not by just watching. I can not satisfy my hunger by just watching at food.
    I learnt football moves through videos and some of parlour movements too but in both things you are not opposed with intention of your destruction. In football your opponent focus on ball and in parlour no opposition to your movements by an intelligence being.
    That's why I am asking to you people who are more experienced than me.
    By the way I am learning a style of karate through an instructor.

Sent from my Karbonn A2+ using Tapatalk

5. Master of Nothing

Master of Nothing Psychotic Pacifist

To be honest, I recommend focusing on your first hand instruction before expanding to another system. Once you have experience and proficiency in one system, you'll be able to analyze techniques from other styles, and even pick up on a few things from videos (although not every fine point). If you have just started Karate, then give yourself some time to build a foundation.