MMA progression

Discussion in 'Mixed Martial Arts' started by GoldDan, Dec 25, 2017.

1. GoldDan

GoldDan Founder of Neo-Bokator, supreme master Dan.

So, I am running my little Neo-Bokator martial arts gym. Wich is actually an MMA gym disguised as a traditional martial arts gym. I pretty much have to make up stuff as I go. I've been winging it for a couple of years now, awarding belts as I see fit. But I think it is time to create a teaching guide for my senior students and clear demands on display. Maybe like a poster of what I expect every belt colour to be able to do.

I hope some of you have experience with judo, wrestling and other real martial arts, that can say if I am missing anything crucial here.

First year to white belt:

The six basic punches, straight, straight, hook, hook, uppercut, uppercut.
    The six basic kicks, front, front, round, round, side, side.
    Wave away the straight punches, cover for the hooks and pat down uppercuts.
    Wipe away the front kicks, muay thai block round kicks, pat down sidekicks.

Pummeling in the clinch, while moving back and forth.
    Clinch wrestling, getting and keeping both hands inside cupped around the neck.
    Fall technique, foreward, sideways, backwards, roll.
    Penetration step single leg. pentration step double leg. And sprawl with hips to the floor.
    Hip-throw(ogoshi), school yard tackle(o soto gari) and clinch throw(sasae tsuri-komi ashi)

Be somewhat understanding of guard, mount, sidecontrol. Have one pass, one sweep, an escape from mount and sidecontrol. Find hand positioning for Kimura, Americana, straight armlock and arm triangle. Understand how blood choke works, understand how shoulder kimura/americana as a lock. The direction it is making the joint go.

White belt to yellow belt:

Six elbows corresponding to the six basic punches. So it is the same direction of power.
    Upward sambo headbutt, Spear knee, roundhouse knee, low-kicks and checks.