This is where I lack...

Discussion in 'Healthy Eating & Nutrition' started by HuoQi, Jun 19, 2012.

1. HuoQi

HuoQi Initiate

I've gone up and down over the years. I'm 32 now, but when I was 22, I was a monsterous body builder. 220 with 4% body fat at 6'1". Then I got married... then I got divorced... then I ate everything in sight. I had herniated a disc in my back 8 years ago and spent 18 months literally on my tail. Eating... Physical therapy was really nothing aerobic.

Once I was more able I tried going to the gym only to injur another part of my body that wasn't ready to deal with the added weight. I was up to 310lbs had gynocomastia and felt pretty crappy about myself. It wasn't until I found Kung Fu that everything changed. Fortunately then I had the luxury of training some 16+ hours a week. I still ate like a pig though, but I made up for it in all the cardio I had on a daily basis. I shed 60lbs in a year.

Fast forward to job change, yet another relationship change and still the same crappy eating habits, back up to 300+ but now with worn knees, shoulders and elbows from BJJ going back into Kung Fu was traumatizing. The knowledge came back and my cardio isn't bad thanks to some mental breathing exercises I do to recover quickly when I'm gassed. But I'm finding myself not being able to reach that cardio peak like I used to. Additionally, my eating habits still stink beyond comprehension. The only way I'm not 400 lbs is the fact that I still train and work out like some kind of beast.

I need some nutrition plan... a real-world plan that doesn't involve eating bags of yardwork and mounds of tofu. I understand the science of dieting. That's the ironic thing. I have so much will-power in other areas and aspects of my life except when it comes to food. I find stupid ways to justify eating that or rationalizing or even thinking that because of this that or the other thing, I'm somehow entitled.